Whatsapp Business Message Scheduler

Akshay Malhotra
3 min readApr 16, 2018

Whatsapp Business App Concept UI/UX Case study

Hey guys this is my first post on medium and I am excited to share something I worked upon lately. I am a hardcore medium user and I sit day in and day out reading and learning stuffs. As a UI/UX designer i have learnt a lot from here. :)

How I got this idea?

I remember I always wanted to wish my friends and family on their birthday/anniversary or remind someone something on a particular time or day and would always forget to do so. I had this idea for years and always though it may not be important for whatsapp users.

From a business perspective email marketing is crucial as it helps businesses to reach out to their clients. I have been using mailchimp, constant contact and many other business email marketing and management softwares for a year or so and I always found it to be a very convenient way of doing email marketing.

In most of the reporting and email marketing softwares their is an option for scheduling. The use of email scheduling is that the mail is automatically dispatched at a scheduled time.

WhatsApp launched “WhatsApp business” 4 months back and I though the purpose of having a dedicated app for business should have a message scheduling feature.

I used this idea and created this concept that incorporates message scheduling feature for “whatsapp business”

Key Features of WhatsApp Business message scheduler concept

THIRD PARTY APP

While searching on google I found out a third party app that helps you schedule through its app which requires a paid subscription to use its features. The point of using whatsapp is that it is free and secure for users! Whatsapp has a huge database of users and from a growth stand point its important to have a scheduling option.

IMPLEMENTATION

I asked a few of my relatives and family friends and their response was that this is an awesome feature — “wow it allows us to schedule messages”

I used the the concept of long press on the send message button to enable schedule message as its a quick and easy way for the user to use plus it would become a habit. The best part is it could be used for setting reminders and scheduling important business messages.

IMPLEMENTATION — Visual Design

Text Field State

In this I have tried to show the different text field states when a user types around 1–5 lines in a message (default WhatsApp field states). I designed it in a way that the person can easily schedule a message. The images shows how the WhatsApp message scheduler behaves when the standard keypad (android) is open and the textfield is at its max state.

Text Field State

UPDATE:

I am so happy that i wanted to share my experience. Few hours after posting my concept on WhatsApp message scheduler for whatsApp business Deccan Chronicle published an article on “Trick to schedule your WhatsApp messages and more.”

--

--